Christmas in Barbados Flip

It’s been a long time since I last posted, and sadly I’m not a consistent writer (unless I started adding food recipes to this blog – then I might have something to say more often). But this recipe is so tasty to me that I needed to write it down.

Christmas In Barbados Flip

1.5 oz Plantation Barbados 5yr rum
0.5 oz Fernet Branca
1 oz sweetened ginger juice
2 dashes orange flower water
2 dashes Fee Brothers orange bitters
1 whole egg

Add all ingredients except ice and shake thoroughly, then add ice and shake again. Strain into a highball glass or martini glass.

I got the idea for this recipe from Measure And Stir‘s Thai Tea Rum Fizz, although strangely the outcome certainly isn’t that drink’s twin. Not even a fraternal twin, but maybe a cousin.

Plantation Barbados and Fernet Branca can go together because the Barbados’ maple-y, almost banana-brown-sugar notes complement Fernet’s sweet, cool aromatic ones delightfully. However, the two alone are far too powerful to make anything relaxing to drink. I wanted to give it a little acid with some sweetness, so I made some sweetened ginger juice: a quick-n-dirty equal mixture of ginger juice (you can buy it bottled by Ginger People) and confectioner’s sugar. I also added some orange flower water and orange bitters for aroma and rounding. Finally, I threw in a whole egg. Adding the whole egg instead of just the white gives it not only a silky, foamy texture but also a creamy egg-nog quality. Egg-nog, maple-y rum, cool plant aromas sweetened by ginger and oranges – I can’t think of a nicer way to enjoy a holiday and (wishfully) a vacation!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.